Best SLR for Architecture-related Photography?

Newer members often state that they think their question is too basic, or stupid, or whatever, to be posted. Nothing could be further further from the truth in any section at DSLRUsers.com, but especially here. Don't feel intimidated. The only stupid question is the one that remains unasked. We were all beginners at one stage, and even the most experienced amongst us will admit to learning new stuff on a daily basis. Ask away! Please also refer to the forum rules and the portal page

Moderators: Greg B, Nnnnsic, Geoff, Glen, gstark, Moderators

Forum rules
Please ensure that you have a meaningful location included in your profile. Please refer to the FAQ for details of what "meaningful" is. Please also check the portal page for more information on this.

Best SLR for Architecture-related Photography?

Postby iShakey on Sun Mar 02, 2008 11:56 pm

I've been putting off buying a new DSLR camera for a few months, mainly as I'm not quite sure of what I want to buy. I'm trying to avoid spending $1500-2000 on a camera that won't quite capture the shots I wish to take. The Nikon range of cameras look very flash, and have been recommended by several friends.

Having been on holiday to Europe, I bought a little Coolpix thing before I went to shoot a few photos of my travels. In 10 weeks I'd racked up 5800 shots on it (and yes, it still works...somehow), mostly or the various cities and towns along the way, and a few night shots as well.

Something I noticed at about shot number 2000 was the way certain buildings started to 'bend in', or get distored at the edges, more often than not in close-up shots rather than when taken from further away. With a large part of the photos I took being of both new and old architechure, this distortion can be seen in most of the shots.