Aperture Nikon d40 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6gIIED

Newer members often state that they think their question is too basic, or stupid, or whatever, to be posted. Nothing could be further further from the truth in any section at DSLRUsers.com, but especially here. Don't feel intimidated. The only stupid question is the one that remains unasked. We were all beginners at one stage, and even the most experienced amongst us will admit to learning new stuff on a daily basis. Ask away! Please also refer to the forum rules and the portal page

Moderators: Greg B, Nnnnsic, Geoff, Glen, gstark, Moderators

Forum rules
Please ensure that you have a meaningful location included in your profile. Please refer to the FAQ for details of what "meaningful" is. Please also check the portal page for more information on this.

Aperture Nikon d40 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6gIIED

Postby freddy0707 on Sun May 25, 2008 3:03 pm

What Apertures should i be able to select with this lens in "A" mode

I am new to this and the theory I don't seem able to select less that 4.2

Also where is a good place to learn about it

Tim the struggler
freddy0707

Re: Aperture Nikon d40 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6gIIED

Postby Marvin on Sun May 25, 2008 3:25 pm

Is your lens zoomed in when you can't select a larger aperture than 4.2 (smaller number)? When you zoom out with a lens without a constant aperture (like yours), the camera will automatically change the aperture and you won't be able to select a larger one.

edit: that probably doesn't make much sense if you are new to this. I don't have this lens, but it doesn't have a constant aperture (it's f3.5 - f5.6), so at 18mm you will be able to select f3.5, if you zoom out a little you may only be able to select say f4.

Welcome to the forum!
Nikon D7000
Marvin

Postby Antsl on Sun May 25, 2008 3:34 pm

Hi Tim,