Newbie unsure of what lens to buy? *update with D3 q*

Newer members often state that they think their question is too basic, or stupid, or whatever, to be posted. Nothing could be further further from the truth in any section at DSLRUsers.com, but especially here. Don't feel intimidated. The only stupid question is the one that remains unasked. We were all beginners at one stage, and even the most experienced amongst us will admit to learning new stuff on a daily basis. Ask away! Please also refer to the forum rules and the portal page

Moderators: Greg B, Nnnnsic, Geoff, Glen, gstark, Moderators

Forum rules
Please ensure that you have a meaningful location included in your profile. Please refer to the FAQ for details of what "meaningful" is. Please also check the portal page for more information on this.

Newbie unsure of what lens to buy? *update with D3 q*

Postby Bam on Wed Jul 02, 2008 8:13 pm

Hi there :)

Im looking at buying an SLR very soon, but I am a complete newbie and was hoping you may be able to offer me some advice?

The camera will be used for a hobby, so im not after anything too expensive. Ideally i think my budget would be no more than $1500 for the body and lens (to start off with atleast).

With the research ive done, Im pretty sure that im set on the Nikon D80 and with looking through the previous threads, it seems like it would be a good choice.

The thing Im having trouble with is the lenses - I still dont really understand what type of lenses are good for what type of photos? I know this is something I will have to learn, and dont worry I plan to! :P (If anyone can offer me some direction on how to find out what lenses are for what, id really appreciate it) But I was hoping you could offer me some advice in the time being?

Im wanting to buy a lens/es (depending on cost) that will allow me to take portrait shots and landscape shots (for times on holidays etc). Can anyone recommend anything?