Nikon D60 viewfinder query?????

A place for us to talk about Nikon related camera gear.

Moderator: Moderators

Forum rules
Please ensure that you have a meaningful location included in your profile. Please refer to the FAQ for details of what "meaningful" is. Please also check the portal page for more information on this.

Nikon D60 viewfinder query?????

Postby kellsy on Mon May 11, 2009 7:13 pm

Hi i am ummming and ahhhing about my first DSLR, now it is either going to be a Canon 1000D or the Nikon D60, but, i am new to this and was simply wondering if i buy the Nikon will i always have to look through the viewfinder or will the image appear on the LCD while i am taking the picture?, i find it hard to believe that that is the way it is...... I understand the Canon has the "liveview" technology, and am just wanting some useful information if anyone has any, feedback would be appreciated as i intend to buy the camera this week, thanks, Mark..... Oh and buy the way was wondering the best place to purchase im from Melbourne and was going to go to Ted's Camera House ......
kellsy

Re: Nikon D60 viewfinder query?????

Postby chrisk on Mon May 11, 2009 7:35 pm

mark, live view on dslr is terrible. if you are going to shoot dslr you will need to learn how to look thru the viewfinder. i think sony and olympus have almost got it right but canon and nikon's system is for stationary objects only.
EM1 l 7.5 l 12-40 l 14 l 17 l 25 l 45 l 60 l 75 l AW1 l V3
chrisk

Postby gstark on Mon May 11, 2009 7:58 pm

What is your specific objection to using an optical viewfinder?

What lenses are you considering purchasing?

And what sort of subjects do you envisage shooting?

While many cameras offer "live view" technology, it's still very much in its infancy. I suspect that it's not going to be a truly viable technology for another three years or so.