What to choose, what to choose?

A place for us to talk about Nikon related camera gear.

Moderator: Moderators

Forum rules
Please ensure that you have a meaningful location included in your profile. Please refer to the FAQ for details of what "meaningful" is. Please also check the portal page for more information on this.

What to choose, what to choose?

Postby bigsarg7 on Tue Nov 17, 2009 7:11 pm

Well my camera (oly e510) is selling on ebay, i finally made the decision to sell it. I have been converted to Nikon user - well currently i don't own one, but want one- I figured that the best people to ask about Nikon camera's were the nikon users.

I am only a hobby photographer. Would like to be more one day. I photograph children mainly and really love to take pictures of landscapes and nature, and have done a wedding which i loved doing and would love to do again. My olympus was great until I got my hands on my brother in laws Nikon d200. I fell in love with it the moment I picked it up. :mrgreen:

I do know that it is an older model, but I loved the feel, the weight, the ease of navigation etc. My budget, mmmm the dreaded word...i hate not having the funds to buy what i want, but my daughters education at this stage takes most of my budget along side the mortgage. :cry: Even though I am selling my camera at the moment on ebay, I would really love to spend more, but i can only afford around the $700 mark all up. I understand that it wont get me any glass....but that might be something santa can bring this year. I am willing to buy second hand gear (thats in pretty good nick) for the right price.

Now, saying that i have no idea on what to buy. As i said i love the d200, but what are your thoughts on the d80, d3000 etc. Please all your info and suggestions will be taken on board, as i learnt from my last buy, you all know better then me!! lol