Cataloging your photos

Have your say on issues related to using a DSLR camera.

Moderator: Moderators

Forum rules
Please ensure that you have a meaningful location included in your profile. Please refer to the FAQ for details of what "meaningful" is.

Cataloging your photos

Postby ozimax on Mon Aug 22, 2016 11:57 pm

OK, I'll be the first to admit it. I'm hopeless at organizing photos. I think I'm getting better, but I still rely on memory almost 100% when I need to find a photo. Any hints out there as to the best way to organize tens of thousands of photos and have them readily accessible when needed? (I have a monthly subscription to PS/LR, but I've never taken the time to learn LR and all it's cataloging goodness).

Any comments appreciated.
President, A.A.A.A.A (Australian Association Against Acronym Abuse)
Canon EOS R6, RF 24-105 F4, RF 70-200 F4, RF 35mm F1.8, RF 16mm F2.8
"And ye shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free." (John 8:32)
ozimax

Re: Cataloging your photos

Postby TonyT on Tue Aug 23, 2016 7:47 am

Hi Oz

This is what LR good at and what I use.

My way is folder with sub-folders e.g. Travel - NSW - Cowra, Overseas Travel - England - London.

Keywords for example family photo's (which I have a folder named Family with sub-folders Birthdays and the like) I keyword every ones name that's in the photo. Same with other photo's coast, surf, coastline.

One thing with LR if you move photo's outside of LR. LR will not know where there are, then you have to show LR where there are.

I import all photo's as date- file number. This way I know which year the photo was taken just personal choice.

LR you can rate the photo's, stars, colours and for example you create a collection of all photo tagged green or 1 star.

I have a collection that has all photo's that I flag as a pick (P) these are the photo's after I have imported, that I think are the best of the lot from that photo shot.

Thats my way.

Cheers
TonyT