Nikon RAW Codec for VISTA

This section contains links that may be of interest to DSLR owners. Things like software, or firmware updates, will be found here.

Moderators: Greg B, Nnnnsic, Geoff, Glen, gstark, Moderators

Forum rules
Please ensure that you have a meaningful location included in your profile. Please refer to the FAQ for details of what "meaningful" is. Please also check the portal page for more information on this.

Nikon RAW Codec for VISTA

Postby sirhc55 on Thu May 03, 2007 12:38 am

Released - not sure if this has been posted:

http://www.nikonimglib.com/nefcodec/index.html.en
Chris
--------------------------------
I started my life with nothing and I’ve still got most of it left
User avatar
sirhc55
Key Member
 
Posts: 12929
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 6:57 pm
Location: Port Macquarie - Olympus EM-10

Postby lukeo on Thu May 03, 2007 1:38 am

thank you!
D70, Sigma 10-20mm, 28-70 F2.8 EX, 70-200mm F2.8 EX, Nikon 50mm AFD, http://lukeo.fotopic.net/
lukeo
Member
 
Posts: 310
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2004 1:42 am
Location: Kensington, WA

Re: Nikon RAW Codec for VISTA

Postby suzaane on Sat Apr 02, 2011 7:03 pm

What codec do I need to import mpeg files to Windows Movie Maker? Whenever I try to import a video taken on my camcorder, it says I don't have the codec. I tried downloading a few but it still gives me the same problem, so I guess I didn't get the right one.
suzaane
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 5:56 pm

Re: Nikon RAW Codec for VISTA

Postby gstark on Sat Apr 02, 2011 9:25 pm

That's not something that we are qualified to answer here, I'm afraid.

I'd strongly suggest contacting Microsoft on that one.
g.
Gary Stark
Nikon, Canon, Bronica .... stuff
The people who want English to be the official language of the United States are uncomfortable with their leaders being fluent in it - US Pres. Bartlet
User avatar
gstark
Site Admin
 
Posts: 22583
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 11:41 pm
Location: Bondi, NSW

Re: Nikon RAW Codec for VISTA

Postby the foto fanatic on Sat Apr 02, 2011 10:18 pm

No 64-bit support means that many will be buying third party progs.

Baah Nikon!
TFF (Trevor)
My History Blog: Your Brisbane: Past & Present
My Photo Blog: The Foto Fanatic
Nikon stuff!
User avatar
the foto fanatic
Moderator
 
Posts: 4212
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2004 7:53 pm
Location: Teneriffe, Brisbane

Re: Nikon RAW Codec for VISTA

Postby surenj on Sun Apr 03, 2011 1:25 pm

Same for Canon. No 64 bit support for RAW files to display in windows explorer. Interesting how 64bit is considered exotic or something. Most computers come with more than 3 gigs of RAM these days.
User avatar
surenj
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7197
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2006 8:21 pm
Location: Artarmon NSW

Re: Nikon RAW Codec for VISTA

Postby Aussie Dave on Sun Apr 03, 2011 3:10 pm

suzaane wrote:What codec do I need to import mpeg files to Windows Movie Maker? Whenever I try to import a video taken on my camcorder, it says I don't have the codec. I tried downloading a few but it still gives me the same problem, so I guess I didn't get the right one.


THIS link might answer your query.

It seems Movie Maker can play many file types (including MPEG-2), however there are apparently several MPEG-2 files that cannot be imported into Movie Maker (which sounds like what is happening to you).

Microsoft (in the link above) suggest using Windows Media Encoder to encode the video to another format, then import it....or you could try using another free program such as Any Video Converter (http://www.any-video-converter.com/products/for_video_free/) to encode your MPEG-2 files to another format - or even another .mpg type and then try importing that into your Movie Maker project.

What camera are you using?

Hope this helps....
Dave
Dave
Nikon D7000 | 18-105 VR Lens | Nikon 50 1.8G | Sigma 70-300 APO II Super Macro | Tokina 11-16 AT-X | Nikon SB-800 | Lowepro Mini Trekker AWII
Photography = Compromise
User avatar
Aussie Dave
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1427
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2004 1:40 pm
Location: West. Suburbs, Melbourne [Nikon D7000]

Re: Nikon RAW Codec for VISTA

Postby photohiker on Sun Apr 03, 2011 11:58 pm

surenj wrote:Same for Canon. No 64 bit support for RAW files to display in windows explorer. Interesting how 64bit is considered exotic or something. Most computers come with more than 3 gigs of RAM these days.


Common problem for Windows 64 users. I've heard that this works well, but haven't tried it myself:

http://www.fastpictureviewer.com/codecs/

Cheaper than a Mac too! :)

Michael
photohiker
Senior Member
 
Posts: 687
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 11:56 am
Location: Burnside, South Australia.


Return to Important links

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron