Fee for providing lost images?

Have your say on issues related to using a DSLR camera.

Moderator: Moderators

Forum rules
Please ensure that you have a meaningful location included in your profile. Please refer to the FAQ for details of what "meaningful" is.

Fee for providing lost images?

Postby haring on Sat Jul 18, 2020 12:32 am

Hey Guys! I am a wedding photographer. A client contacted me recently who apparently lost her wedding photos. I shot her wedding 9 years ago.
She asked me to find out whether I still have their images. It would take me a half a day to go through all the archives.
My question: Do you charge a fee for providing images 5 years after you shot a client's wedding, portrait session, etc?
If yes, how much and how do you explain the clients that a fee is involved...?

Thanks a bunch!
Otto, Miami
haring

Re: Fee for providing lost images?

Postby gstark on Mon Jul 20, 2020 10:30 am

This is an interesting question.

It's been a long time since I shot weddings; we're talking film based shooting - mid-80s.

Back then, I used to file all my negs in a date based format, so that with just the name of the couple and the date of the wedding, I would be able to locate the negs in a matter of minutes, subject to them being placed in a handy location.

With digital imaging, not much has changed. I still store my images in a date based format, and folders will contain details of the subjects, be they people, or locations. So again, with just the date of the wedding and the names of the parties in the wedding, I would have very little trouble in locating the images in question. And they're all located online, in several places, within my home location.